Posts Tagged ‘Pakistan Peoples Party’

Pakistan General Elections Results 2013 (Preliminary) – Incomplete

May 12, 2013 Leave a comment


Pakistan General Elections 2013 Results are coming as counting is being completed in each elected seat of National and Provincial Assembly.

National Assembly (NA) election was contested on 272 seats while 577 Provincial Assembly Seats were contested out of which 297 seats were from Punjab Province (PP), 130 seats were from Sindh Province, 99 seats from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (PK) and 51 seats were from Balochistan Assembly (PB).

Below are the result of National and provincial assemblies (Incomplete)

Read more…


2013 Pakistan General Elections

April 21, 2013 Leave a comment


2013 General Elections are going to be held on May 11, 2013. Less than twenty days remaining and every political party is trying to gain the maximum vote bank from all regions. Pakistan People’s Party (Parliamentarians)was the most successful party in 2008 General Elections held under the military regime of Gen. Pervaiz Musharaf. Second successful party was Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz group) (PML(N))followed by Pakistan Muslim League (Quaid-e-Azam group) (PML (Q)). Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf and Jamat-e-Islami did not take part in 2008 General Elections. Elected government first time in country’s history completed its tenure of five years during which almost every party changed it position except Pakistan People’s Party.
2013 General Elections are also based on regional powers like previous elections in which parties take lead in their own area. Sindh excluding Karachi and Hyderabad was dominated by Pakistan People’s Party and Karachi, Hyderabad duo was dominated by MQM while Punjab was dominated by Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz) and Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa was dominated by Awami National Party. Balochistan was dominated by PPPP and PML (Q) due to the boycott of Baluchistan National Party from elections in 2008.

In the picture above are shown the political strong of parties along with major cities of area and also shown the fortress cities of political parties. Click on the image to enlarge and get a closer view of political fortresses.

If we talk about Punjab, most populous province of Pakistan, it is divided in three regions furthermore, Northern Punjab (consisting Rawalpindi, Attock, Jhelam, Chakwal), Central Punjab (consisting Lahore, Faisalabad, Gujranwala, Sargodha) and Southern Punjab (consisting Multan, Bahawalpur, Muzzafargarh, Rahim Yar Khan). PML (N) is in clear dominance in northern and central Punjab with Lahore being its fortress city where only one or two seats are won by other parties even in worst PML era. But PML (N) never have been very strong in southern Punjab where PPPP and PML (Q) are in dominant position. Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has its roots in Lahore and called the party of youth but it seems that PTI is more popular in cities than in rural areas. PTI will find tough time in cities like Lahore, Rawalpindi Gujranwala from PML (N) and in Multan and Bahawalpur area from PPPP. Jamat-e-Islami have won seats in Punjab also but this time it will be difficult for them too to win some seats in Punjab. Jamiat Ulma-e-Islam (JUI) lead by Maulana Fazal-ul-Rehman will try to find some vote bank in Mianwali, Bhakkar and areas adjacent to Khyber- Pakhtunkhwa.

Read more…

M4 Faisalabad – Multan Motorway

January 21, 2013 2 comments


19 August 2009 was the day when ground breaking ceremony of M4 Faisalabad-Multan Motorway took place by the hands of the then Prime Minister Syed Yousaf Raza Gillani. Initial planned cost of M4 was 42 Billion PKR. The project was separated in four sections:

  1. FaisalabadGojra (58 km)
  2. Gojra-Shorkot (62 km)
  3. Shorkot-Din Pur-Khanewal (64 km)
  4. Khanewal-Multan (45 km) – (later included Muzaffargarh thus making it 57 km long)

Moreover fifteen interchanges and 23 flyovers/underpasses are part of the project. Two major bridges on Ravi river and Sidhnai canal will also be built.

Read more…